top of page

DIY Holiday Scented Pine Cones

Tis the season to begin gearing up for the holidays with everything DIY! I love infusing my home during the holidays with essential oils which are rich, spicy, warm, and invigorating. Although I love using my diffuser, the holidays are the perfect occasion to scent your home with essential oils in alternative ways such as decorations, baking goodies, or simmering a pot of hot apple cider on the stove!

As the leaves begin to change and the weather gets cooler, I love taking hikes to enjoy the colors of fall. Pops of bright yellow, deep red, and orange ignite the Colorado Mountains. During one hike, I noticed my path was bursting with pine cones. Inspired by their natural beauty, I collected as many as I could carry and brought them home to decorate my home for the holidays.

I absolutely love the versatility of decorating with pine cones, you can pretty much put them anywhere and everywhere! One of my favorite ways to use pine cones is with my Christmas tree. Every year I add pines cones into my tree for a more woodsy and natural feeling. Pines cones also look amazing when assembled into a wreath, table centerpieces, mixed with a medley of pumpkins, or adorning a fireplace mantle with garland.

If you find yourself a busy bee this holiday season, do not feel like you must hike the highest mountain to find your own pinecones, you can always pop into your nearest craft shore and buy a bag! If you have the time, picking out your own pines cones is a great way to enjoy the outdoors and create a fun activity for the entire family.

Ensure your pines cones are properly washed if you choose to pick your own (we don’t any hidden insects occupying your home). Wash in sink, place in a foil-covered baking sheet and bake 1 hour for 200F. Place water in a small spray bottle and add several drops of essential oil (Drop amount will all depend on your preference and how strong you want your pine cones to smell). Spray the cones and seal in a plastic bag for 24 hours. Remove and let air dry.

Let the holiday season inspire you to create your favorite combinations of essential oil scented pines cones by using cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, peppermint, pine, orange, or my favorite holiday blend from Young Living, Christmas spirit!

Jessica's Essential
Cooking Tips 

Always taste test your recipes drop by drop. Essential oils are extremely powerful to the pallet and may vary based on preference. Although a recipes calls for three drops, this may seem too strong for some, so add slowly and as needed!

TIP # 1

TIP # 2

Always use glass or stainless steel when creating your favorite beverage.  Avoid using plastic water bottles, Styrofoam and Solo cups.

Have fun with essential oils and explore the countless culinary possibilities. Take your favorite recipe to a new level with enhanced flavor and wellness; whether sweet or savory your family will love dinner time all over again!

TIP # 3

bottom of page